Rochester Environmental Commission

Division of Zoning
City Hall - Room 125B
Rochester, NY 14614

rss   Subscribe to Boards and Commissions Updates in this RSS Feed (Internet Explorer Only)

The Rochester Environmental Commission (REC) is a seven-member volunteer citizen advisory board established by Section 12-12 of the City Charter.  This section of the City Code is modeled after Article 12-F of the NYS General Municipal Law which permits cities, towns and villages to establish conservation advisory councils and boards. 

The REC reviews projects that are Type 1 Actions under the State Environmental Quality Review Act (SEQRA) and require City approval and/or funding. The Commission provides recommendations on a project's potential impacts on the environment. It is important to note that SEQRA considers both the natural (land, water, air, wildlife, etc.) and human made (archeological and historic resources, community character, etc.) environment.

The REC also acts as the hearing body when an environmental impact statement (EIS) is prepared for a project. At the conclusion of the environmental impact statement process, they make recommendations on whether the proposal should be approved, approved with modifications, or denied. Lastly, the REC is the appeals body for the Coastal Erosion Hazard Area permitting process.

Members must be City residents. If you are interested in applying for a position on the Commission, please contact Josanne Reaves in the Mayor’s Office at (585) 428-6140 or email 

The REC meets on an as-needed basis with meetings occurring generally once per month. Meetings are held in City Hall, Room 223B at 5:30pm. All meetings are subject to change, please call to confirm. As an advisory board, comments/recommendations that are generated by the REC are sent to the decision-making authorities for consideration during the permitting process.  For a copy of the comments/recommendations or for requests to review the project file for a particular project, please contact Tom Kicior, Senior City Planner at (585) 428-7762 or  

Current Board Members

Rosemary Jonientz  Chair 
Ian Kuchman  
Tanya Mooza Zwahlen           
Richard M. Pospula  
Leigh McMullen  
Katie Premo  
Bob Schellinger  

Meeting Schedule - 2018



Jan. 18, 2018


 Feb. 15, 2018


 March 15, 2018


No Meeting

 April 19, 2018 

No Meeting

 May 17, 2018 


 June 21, 2018 


   July 12, 2018 


 Aug. 16, 2018  


 Sept. 20, 2018 

Meeting Canceled - No Quorum

 Oct. 18, 2018 

No Meeting


Nov. 5, 2018 

 No Meeting

Dec. 20, 2018 


Meeting Schedule - 2019

  January 17, 2019                          Agenda                            
  February 21,2019        Agenda
  March 21, 2019        Agenda
  April 18, 2019        Agenda
  May 16, 2019        Agenda
  June 20, 2019        Agenda
  July 18, 2019        Agenda
  August 15, 2019        Agenda
  September 19, 2019        Agenda
  October 17, 2019        Agenda
  November 21, 2019        Agenda
  December 19, 2019        Agenda



2016 Agendas

2015 Agendas

2014 Agendas and Minutes

2013 Agendas and Minutes

2012 Agendas and Minutes

2011 Agendas and Minutes

2010 Agendas and Minutes

rss   Subscribe to Boards and Commissions Updates in this RSS Feed (Internet Explorer Only)