## Additional Proposed Legislation for the June 16, 2020 City Council Meeting -Filed in the Office of the City Clerk June 10, 2020

\* \* Please Note \* \*

For questions regarding the proposed legislation, call the City Clerk's Office at 585-428-7421



## COMMITTEE OF THE WHOLE INTRODUCTORY NO.

City Hall Room 301A • 30 Church Street • Rochester, New York 14614-1290

Loretta C. Scott, President Councilmember At-Large

June 10, 2020

Willie J. Lightfoot, Vice-President Councilmember At-Large

Malik D. Evans

TO THE COUNCIL

Councilmember At-Large

Ladies and Gentlemen:

Mitch Gruber

Councilmember At-Large

LaShay D. Harris Councilmember South District

Re: Re-Appointment – Police Accountability Board

Mary Lupien Councilmember East District

Council Priority - Public Safety

Jacklyn Ortiz Councilmember At-Large

Michael A. Patterson Councilmember Northeast District

Inse Peo Councilmember Northwest District

Transmitted herewith for your approval is a resolution to approve reappointments to the Police Accountability Board (PAB) and to establish staggered terms as outlined in Local Law No. 2019-2. The PAB is comprised of nine community members: four members nominated by the Council with one residing within each of the four Council Districts, four nominated from names submitted by the Police Accountability Board Alliance (PABA), and one nominated by the Mayor.

The Police Accountability Board members were selected to serve initial terms that commenced with their appointment in January 2020. These initial terms are

preliminary and set to expire on June 30, 2020. Following the initial term, the Police Accountability Board members must be reappointed to serve staggered terms beginning July 1, 2020. The staggering of terms will be broken down in the following manner:

- Three members shall be appointed for terms of one (1) year, of whom one (1) shall have been designated by Council, and two (2) shall have been designated by the Alliance;
- Three members shall be appointed for terms of two (2) years, of whom two (2) shall have been designated by the Council, and one (1) shall have been designated by the Alliance;
- Three members shall be appointed for terms of three (3) years, of whom one (1) shall have been designated by the Mayor one (1) shall have been designated by the Alliance, and one (1) shall have been designated by Council.

Following this staggered term, each of the members are eligible to be reappointed for a second term of three years. Local Law 2019-2 does not provide a method for choosing which members of the Board will serve which staggered term, as such it was determined that a randomized selection method would be the most neutral. That random drawing was conducted, and resulted in the follow terms for the proposed reappointments:

Phone: (585) 428-7538

Fax: (585) 428-6347

www.cityofrochester.gov

EEO/ADAEmployer

Seat	Name	Term
PABA Seat 1	Vacant	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021 (1 Year Term)
PABA Seat 4	Dr. Celia McIntosh	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021 (1 Year Term)
Council East	Dr. Robert Harrison III	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021 (1 Year Term)
PABA Seat 2	Miquel Powell	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2022 (2 Year Term)
Council Northwest	Rabbi Drorah Setel	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2022 (2 Year Term)
Council South	Rev. Matthew Nickoloff	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2022 (2 Year Term)
PABA Seat 3	Shani Wilson	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023 (3 Year Term)
Council Northeast	Ida Perez	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023 (3 Year Term)
Mayoral	Rev. Dr. Rickey B. Harvey	July 1, 2020 – June 30, 2023 (3 Year Term)

PABA Seat 1 was previously held by Jonathan Dollhopf who submitted his resignation on June 8, 2020. PABA Seat 1 will be filled going forward using the process set forth in Local Law 2019-2. City and district residency was verified for each of the members where applicable.

Resumes of the above nominees are on file with the City Clerk.

Respectfully Submitted,

Loretta C. Scott President

Mitch Gruber Councilmember

Jacklyn Ortiz Councilmember Willie J. Lightfoot Vice President

LaShay D. Harris Councilmember

Michael A. Patterson Councilmember Mary Lupien Councilmember

Malik D. Evans

Councilmember

Jose Peo Councilmember

## INTRODUCTORY NO.

245

Resolution No.

## Approving appointments to the Police Accountability Board

BE IT RESOLVED, by the Council of the City of Rochester as follows:

Section 1. The Council hereby approves the appointment of Rev. Dr. Rickey B. Harvey to the Police Accountability Board as appointed by the Mayor for a term commencing on July 1, 2020 and expiring on June 30, 2023.

Section 2. The Council hereby appoints to the Police Accountability Board the following persons, one for each of the four City Council Districts specified, each for a term that shall commence on July 1, 2020 and expire on the date specified:

Name	City Council District	Term Expires
Dr. Robert Harrison III	East	June 30, 2021
Rabbi Drorah Setel	Northwest	June 30, 2022
Rev. Matthew Nickoloff	South	June 30, 2022
Ida Perez	Northeast	June 30, 2023

Section 3. The Council hereby appoints to the Police Accountability Board the following persons nominated by the Police Accountability Board Alliance, each for a term that shall commence on July 1, 2020 and expire on the date specified:

Name	Term Expires
Miquel Powell	June 30, 2022
Shani Wilson	June 30, 2023
Dr. Celia McIntosh	June 30, 2021

Section 4. This resolution shall take effect immediately.