Well Over a Century of Service
|Click image for a slideshow of yesteryear's market.
The same colorful cornucopia of goods that overwhelms a visitor today also greeted the first market goers in 1827 when the village of Rochester only had about 5,000 residents and the market was built partially over the river at the west end of the Main Street bridge. Later this unique resource was replaced by Centre Market, Rochester's first major civic undertaking, built on the river's east side between the Andrews Street bridge and the site of the present Sister Cities pedestrian bridge. Since 1905, the Market has been at its current site, 280 North Union Street.
For a comprehensive history of the Market, check out The Hands That Feed Us: 100 Years at the Rochester Public Market (see image of the book cover below). Published to commemorate the Market's centennial in 2005, this beautiful book is on sale at the Friends of the Market kiosk near the Union Street entrance during warm months, or at the Market Office year-round on regular Market days. Also for sale are a series of four beautiful prints featuring the Market's early days (see below).
Consider taking a Market Tour to learn more about the Market's fascinating history! For tour information, contact the Friends of the Market at (585) 325-5058 or email@example.com.
Photos courtesy Albert R. Stone Negative Collection of the Rochester Museum and Science Center
Below: Market vendor license plates required from the 1930s through the 1950s; the Market history book; and a sample of the series of historical Market prints.