About the Preservation Board and Membership Info

Public participation in government is a keystone of democracies and is possible through local board and commission actions and membership.


Preservation Board members are selected by the Mayor, confirmed by City Council, and serve without pay or compensation. Members must be City residents and serve for terms of two years, and may serve without limit to the number of terms. Board membership must include one member from the Greater Rochester Association of Realtors; one from a recognized historical association; two registered architects; two residents of Preservation Districts; and one city resident at large.

If you are interested in applying for a position on the Board, please contact Josanne Reaves in the Mayor’s Office either by email at: Josanne.Reaves@CityOfRochester.Gov or by phone at: (585) 428-6140.  

Full Members:
Christopher Carretta, Chair Realtor
Karsten Solberg, Vice Chair Architect
Gerald Gamm Preservation District Resident
Victor Sanchez      Member of Recognized Historical Association
Hilary Diodato   Preservation District Resident
Falon M. Uloth      Resident At Large
Allison C. Hinman      Preservation District Resident

Alternate Members:  
David Matthews Architect
Edward Cain Preservation District Resident  

Isidoro Morale Staff
Matthew Simonis     Secretary
Tom Warth   Legal Counsel